Rick Wills is Champion

Saturday saw 25 golfers contest the third and final round of the Men’s Championship. The weather was a concern for some beforehand but as often happens at Yea the heavy rain skirted aroumd Yea leaving conditions pretty good. The leading players in each of the three grades maintained their winning positions.

Rick Wills(10) won the A Grade with 244 from Michael Spagnolo(9) second on CB from Bob Glenister(11) on 260. Greg Clements(15) won the B Grade with 266 from second Alan Pell(15) with 273. C Grade was won by Bill Dredge(21) with 285 from David Ngo(23) with 289. The Clark Trophy for the lowest handicap nett score was won by Rick Wills with 213. Bill Dredge and Greg Clements had 220 and Rob O’Halloran and David Ngo had 221.

Winning results of the day were: A Grade – 1st Rick Wills nett 69 ($12.50), 2nd Brian Simmons(13) nett 73 (2 balls) 3rd Michael Spagnolo(9) nett 75 (1). B Grade – 1st Lachlan Wischer(17) nett 70 ($25), 2nd Jonathon Fisher(16) nett 72 (2) on CB from 3rd Rob O’Halloran (19) (1 Ball). C Grade – 1st Darcy Pell(28) nett 65 ($25), 2nd Phil Armstrong(24) nett 68 (2) and 3rd Bill Dredge nett 73 (1). NTP on the 14th was Michael Spagnolo. The putting was won by Darcy Pell with 26 putts. The Club Award was secured by Mark Mullaly.

Wednesday sees a stroke & putting round for the men and on Friday, the AFL Holiday, the Bruce Kindred Cup. A 4BBB (Mixed, Men’s or Ladies) and Individual Stableford Events($20 player), be there by 9:00am for a 9:30 shotgun start. Come along in your team colours and a light lunch will be provided afterwards.

Leave a comment