Barry Moore Trophy to Malcolm Bett

Saturday saw 22 men contest the 2nd round of the Barry Moore Trophy at Royal Yea. Conditions were good with a light rain showers at times. Winner of the day, continuing his form at Albury Golf Week, was Paul Clayton(10) with 38 points. Second on CB was Michael Spagnolo(6) following up on his win on Wednesday. Third with 37 points was Greg Clements from fourth Andrew Bohn((6) also on 37. Fifth was John Phillips((18) with 36 points. NTP on the 2nd was Brendan Chenhall and Jeff Aurisch won the Club Award.

Malcolm Bett

Barry Moore won 18 A Grade and 4 B Grade Championships at Yea from 1953 to 2001. The two round event named in his honour was won by Malcolm Bett this year with scores of 42/33 – 75 total stableford points. Second with 74 points was Martin Lowe from third Michael Spagnolo 73. A full list of results is available on the Yea 1 golf website.

As mentioned before, Paul Clayton was the Golf Week Champion of 2024 at Albury. Winner of the Scratch Eclectic for 2023 was Anthony Coleman and the Handicap Eclectic Winner for 2023 was Alan Pell.

Next Wednesday sees the Men play stableford and on Saturday the Monthly Medal/ Rd 2 Sichlau Trophy.

Leave a comment