Men win 2020/21 Gender Challenge

Today saw the final round of the annual Gender Challenge played at Yea Golf Course in perfect conditions. Holding a solid lead at the start of play, and theoretically within reach of our Ladies to cause an upset.. …, sadly, for them it just didn’t happen. Twenty two men and 14 Ladies continued to reflect the increased interest in golf and the growth of our membership.

Neil Peterson (13) won the Ann Baynes Memorial Trophy with 38 pts with Ken Whitfort (7) and Vicky Butler (35) both on 37pts. Lachie Wischer and Allan Thatcher were next with 36pts. Fourteen individual matches between the genders saw the Ladies win 4 but the Men won 10 giving the Men a comfortable 535 to 340 win over the 3 month duration of the Challenge……this year!

The Ladies daily comp was won by Vicky Butler from Dors Lehman (31) on 35pts and Adrianne Anglin (13) with 34pts.

Neil Peterson was NTP and Norm McCallum received the Club Award.

Leave a Comment